Hour of Code Webinar with Eric Rosenbaum and Unruly Splats

November 09, 2020

 Get ready for an epic hour of code!

Watch the Webinar  

 

What: 4 Collaborative Projects For an Epic Hour of Code with Splats and Makey Makey!
When:  Thursday, November 12, 5PM ET / 4PM CT / 3PM MT / 2PM PT
Duration: 60 Minutes

Join our Hour of Code webinar where you'll hear from Dr. Splats (aka Amon Millner) and Eric Rosenbaum, co-inventor of Makey Makey about their favorite HOC projects for virtual and hybrid learning. These 4 activities will focus on creativity and collaboration to engage students with items from around the house and get them interacting with their classmates on Zoom or from 6 feet apart.

In this webinar you will learn:

  • How to use Makey Makey and Splats for virtual learning
  • 4 examples of 30-60 minute HOC projects with a focus on FUN!
  • How to use student-led learning and open-ended projects to engage students in HOC

 

Resources from the Webinar

Craft and Code: Makey Makey Interactive Poster

 

Collaborative Sound Art Project

  • Record a sound in Scratch or with an app like "Online Voice Recorder."  

 

  • Have students remix the previous project entry and code sound art in Scratch. (Here is a Scratch Project to get you started.)

Have students draw the onomatopoeia word for their sound. Collect all of them and plug into the last project to have one project that has all the sounds from all the students. 

Interview Anything Project

Ask students to find something in their house or room to interview. Imagine the questions you might ask the object and how it might respond!

Ask students to create a project in Scratch to showcase their interview! Here are more resources for this project:

Slides and Unruly Projects

Back to the Blog
boy slapping jello
Subscribe for Latest News + Other Goodies
Follow Us
Makey Makey Family
Makey Makey Classic
$49.95
was $59.95
ORDER NOW!
STEM Pack - Classroom Invention Literacy Kit
$699.95
was $849.95
ORDER NOW!
Makey Makey GO
$19.95
was $24.95
ORDER NOW!

Welcome

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aenean pharetra, ligula non mollis pretium, lectus libero sodales augue, interdum auctor mauris dui non risus. Nulla facilisi. Nunc rutrum diam in elit sagittis eget viverra erat viverra. Morbi imperdiet aliquet libero vel rhoncus. Integer.